top of page
Search
Michelle Hurst

Writing Challenge

I was given a writing challenge from my superb online writing group to try and light the fire of creativity again. So the prompt was to listen to conversations whilst out and about and write a 500 word piece on it. So here is mine:


As I sat in the cold church hall and watched as the after school club kids let off steam by playing football, one of the mummies broke the silence between the adults and asked the question "Well what are you all having for dinner, tonight? I need some inspiration?" The really loud one asked. 

I am convinced if you were standing outside in the car park in gale force winds you would still hear this particular lady. 

There were various answers from those seated around. 

" I am having salmon tonight with steamed vegetables." Replied blonde yummy mummy with long red painted nails. 

I would at a guess, say her housekeeper was preparing dinner, you couldn't do anything with those nails, that is for sure. 

"We are having a chippy tea, as Casey and I are headed out." Came the answer from the small rotund woman sitting in the corner. 

"Oh now you have put me in the mood for a chinese tonight. I really couldn't be bothered making tea." Said the curly haired woman sitting beside me, as she proceeded to unclip her bra and attach her baby to her unleashed boob. Yeah you go girl, I thought to myself. 

" We are having steak and chips but wait to you hear. I got a sirloin steak for me and him indoors. But I sliced it in half so it was two thinly sliced sirloins. I'll just add mushrooms and pepper sauce and he will never know the difference and I will keep the tenner! Cha ching! " Orange floosy cackled. 

She was literally orange from fake tan but I think she forgot about her neck and the back of her hands, as they were still white. 

Little Miss Prim chirped up from her corner," David and I are going out to dinner tonight, for a five course meal and cocktails at a two Mechelin starred restaurant up the coast." 

Oh my god, be quiet woman, you are probably going to John Dorys and washing it down with a bottle of shloer. 

The hall went silent when everything seemed to go into slow motion as all eyes were focused on the football that was flying through the air. Everyone watched in horror with their mouths wide open as the football was headed straight towards Little Miss Prims face. 

Oh shit! 

Hands were covering mouths now as the ball landed squarely on Little Miss Prims face, which knocked her back with force. 

The commotion started. Kids were screaming "It wasnt me, it wasnt me!" 

The church representatives were running to the kitchen to get ice packs. The mummies were grabbing their kids as the blood splattered everywhere. 

Thats when I began to panic. I had left fish out for my dinner but I had this overwhelming feeling it wasn't what was on my menu tonight. 

The smell of fresh blood was all too much for me. I have been a very good girl. I haven't had fresh blood in over a year! 

No-one noticed as I quietly walked over to the only exit door and locked it. I surveyed the room. 

Who would be first? 

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Faded Memories

I watched from the side of the stage. I watched my daughter, Tamara stride across the stage with immense confidence, working the crowd as...

Comentarios


bottom of page