top of page
Search
Michelle Hurst

Character Introduction

I am currently studying a course on novel writing, hopefully to give me the kick up the rear end I need to get the little grey cells going again, so I would like to share some of the pieces that I have written to get my mojo back again, most are little short snippets.,



"Okay, okay I can do this. Martin you can do this." Martin said aloud. Six foot four and built like giant haystacks, hands like shovels, Martin grabbed his dark unruly hair and tied it back in a pink scrunchie that he found on his wrist. This meant business.


Staring at the contraption in front of him, he pushed one button, pulled on a lever, pushed a handle down, and popped a button out. Still no luck. He didn't understand how it worked, yet he had seen Martha do it in one swift action and it collapsed.


No matter what he did, it just wasn't going to work. So he opened the boot of the car and grabbed the emergency rope he always carried.

He lifted the offending contraption onto the roof of the car and wrapped the rope around it several times, checked that it wasn't going to move and tied it tight.

He popped his head through the open window of the backseat and there fast asleep in her car seat lay his precious bundle of joy, little baby Rose.

As he got into the driver's seat he muttered to himself, "You need a degree to collapse one of those prams."


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Faded Memories

I watched from the side of the stage. I watched my daughter, Tamara stride across the stage with immense confidence, working the crowd as...

Comments


bottom of page